top of page

Day In The Life Of... Emily and Harlow.

Meet one of our PawSwap members in Surrey, Emily and her pup Harlow!


Harlow is a very snugly Chihuahua who has a love of bird watching, eating treats, and licking noses. Her favourite past time is to shake, so she often rocks a sweater. Harlow loves making new friends especially with other Chihuahuas and dogs that are smaller than she is.

Emily and Harlow can...

Take care of dogs while people are at work

Take care of dogs on weekends

Take care of dogs in the evenings or overnight

Take care of dogs over holidays or when someone is on vacation

Would your pup love to play with Harlow while you're away for the weekend or on vacay? Learn more about a typical day in the life of Harlow...

How do you and Harlow usually start your mornings?

Harlow sleeps in the pillows of my bed, and when I wake up at 6am she crawls under the covers into the warm spot and rests her head on my pillow as I shower, get dressed and ready, and make coffee. Usually around 7am she will decide that she is ready to get up so I will take her for a short walk before I leave for work.

What does an average day look like for you two?

Harlow will either spend the day on the couch gazing out the living room window at the park across the street, or she will come to work with me. She loves coming to work and running around the office, exploring all of the cubicles and offices, and making friends certain colleagues. There are two service dogs, labs, occasionally in the office as well, and she wants absolutely nothing to do with them - unless they are playing with a ball, in which case she will try to steal it and hide under something small that they can't get to.

Are there any activities you do where your pup can't join?

I volunteer with BC Chihuahua Rescue as a foster, but also transporting dogs into Canada from across the US border. Harlow doesn't come with for the drives across as I never really know what personality of dog I am picking up until I get him. She also does not join in any adoptions. (PawSwappers, this is a chance to earn Treats and swap with this little Harlow!)

What do you and Harlow get up too on weekends?

If it is not raining we will typically be out the door around 9/930, grab a Starbucks, and head out for a long walk about 1-1.5 hours. Often on Sundays we will go over to my parents for family dinner where Harlow gets to play with her "cousin" dogs, or chase around my toddler niece, who loves to share her snacks, and watch Paw Patrol with Harlow.

What do you and Harlow love about PawSwap?

Networking. Harlow is hoping to make more Chihuahua friends, especially someone she might want to stay with if I need to go out of town.

Does Emily and Harlow sound like the perfect owner/dog duo to swap with?


bottom of page